HEP 3 of 3… the never endeing 200 meter run

Next I went off to the Olympic development center for another heptathlon in San Diego. This was such a great thing because Ethan, Milika, Eugene, and JT, all friends from the sports ministry were there supporting and competing. JT is such an awesome jumps coach and friend and was there for the whole meet!

The first couple of events were rocky I ran 14.07 in hurdles, cleared a higher bar in high jump 1.64, but threw way lower in shot than in Texas( 11.89 meters).

Image

Next was the 200, after running the fastest time of my life with the best block start ever we cross the finish line and wait for our times only to have them tell us that we had to re-run the race. They had put us on the wrong marks for the 200 and we had 35 minuets to recover. Upset at first I got over it and chilled around until it was time to run. Mentally I tried to tell myself that I could do this so when the gun went off I took off as fast as I could… only to see the rest of the comp passing me way faster than they had before in the other race. I sat and waited for the time  26.02 way slower than what I needed. I instantly started to think why the heck this had to happen at this meet, upset and in tears I called my coach and wanted to quit. He told me to wake up in the morning and see how I feel and to keep going. After balling to JT, Jake, and the meet director about what had happened ( on my birthday I might add) I went back to the hotel and got ready for the next day.

Day two came around and I had made some promises to people that tried to cheer me up that I had to keep.  I got out on the Long jump run way and did what I knew I could do at practice. I prayed before I left my room and told God that I was just going to go out and do what I can do for him and hope that it is good enough. I told JT 5.80 in long jump, 145 feet in jav and 2:25 in the 800 will give me a score of 5500 points ( 100 points off the trials B standard).

With those marks in mind I came down the runway  and jumped 5.76 a season and PB mark. Then I wen to Jav and threw 40.41 meters just shy of my PB and what I wanted to throw. With the last event at hand I went out thinking what Jake tells me every time… suck it up and RUN. I knew that I had to come through at 69 seconds or lower to run 2:25. The gun went off and I went off, coming through the first lap at exactly 69 seconds! The only part that sucked was that the tuck in behind someone strategy that Jake had taught me when running in head wind would not happen I was the middle of the race. There was one girl ahead of me by about 7 meters and the rest of the field behind me. Facing a fierce wind on the back stretch I passed the line at 2:28.

I had the worst first day and wanted to quit, but because of the people around me I kept going and ended up getting a PB of 5363.

I would not chance ANY thing about what has happened to me over the past month of competing. Gods timing is amazing to see and each day I run I see that. I am blessed to have friends that I can count on who are also athletes that despite the amount of time they have been in the sport, need a little prayer and support from others around them. THAT is what being called to do what you love is about ;-).

Leave a Reply

